There is a ban on Australians travelling overseas. This ban is managed by the Australian Border Force.

What is coronavirus (COVID-19)? 

Coronavirus (COVID-19) is a respiratory illness caused by a new virus. Symptoms range from a mild cough to pneumonia. Some people recover easily, others may get very sick very quickly. There is evidence that it spreads from person to person. Good hygiene can prevent infection.

Coronavirus symptoms

Reported illnesses have ranged from mild symptoms to severe illness and death for confirmed coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) cases.

Symptoms may appear 2-14 days after exposure:

  • Fever
  • Cough
  • Shortness of breath

*provided by Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Australian State and Territory health authority sources

ACT Health

NSW Health

1800 022 222

Health Victoria

1800 675 398